SmarterMail has two different methods for deleting messages. You can either drag and drop messages from a folder to Deleted Items or delete them using the Delete menu.
The action SmarterMail takes when you delete a message depends on the option you choose in your account settings:
- Move to Deleted Items folder - When items are deleted they are moved to the Deleted Items folder. If the Deleted Items folder does not exist, it will be created automatically the first time you delete a message.
- Auto-purge folder - When using IMAP or webmail and messages are deleted from a folder, they are only marked as deleted. Messages are not physically removed from the folder until they are purged. This option will automatically purge the folder after deleting the message. Note: When deleted messages are purged, the action is final. You will not be able to retrieve these messages later.
- Mark as deleted - When the message is deleted with this option, the message remains in the current folder, but will be crossed out and marked as deleted. If the folder is then purged, all items marked for deletion will be removed.
- Mark as deleted and hide - With this option, any message that has been marked as deleted will be hidden from view in webmail. This will allow you to keep deleted messages without seeing them every time you log into your mailbox. Note: It is important to keep an eye on your email account disk usage when using this option, as your mailbox may be fuller than you realize.
It is important to note that the action taken for deleted items will ONLY be taken when deleting items through webmail. Deleting an item from Outlook Express or another email client will NOT use the setting that you choose. Note: When your email client connects to SmarterMail via POP3, any emails that are marked as deleted are automatically purged. To prevent this from happening, select the Move to Deleted Items folder option to avoid accidentally purging deleted items.
Didn't mean to delete a message? You can retrieve deleted messages from your Deleted Items folder as long as the system hasn't been purged yet. Just open the Deleted Items folder and select the desired message(s). Then drag the selected message(s) to your Inbox or another folder. Note: Your system administrator can permanently remove the messages in your Deleted Items folder at any time without warning, so don't delete messages if you might want them later. After the system purges any items marked for deletion, you can't retrieve the deleted messages.
Effects of Folder Auto-clean
Your system administrator may have established auto-clean policies that may delete older junk e-mail, deleted items, and/or sent items when these folders get too large. However, they may have left the option available for you to override auto-clean settings. For more information, see Folder Auto-clean.